Music. Music. Music. Music!
It seems to have recently taken over my life, but I’m hardly complaining. This weekend was particularly full of it, with Gaelic Song class on Saturday, the Acoustic Session on Sunday and my second recording session in Gatehouse today.
Gaelic Song this month was a bit of a special treat as our class was taken by Gillibrìde MacMillan, who played  Gwyllyn the Bard in Outlander and is a Gaelic Singer from South Uist. Aside from having an incredibly beautiful voice, Gillìbride was full of interesting knowledge about the inner workings of traditional Gaelic music. I made recordings of the class, but I haven’t gone through them yet, so I haven’t got any to share just now. 
Yesterday’s Acoustic Session was at the Clachan Inn. I completely forgot to take any photos as we were all having far too much of a good time for such trivialities.  Playing in a pub is often more challenging, but the numerous patrons really appreciated the music so made it much more of a joy! We played everything from folk to rock to Tango and heard lots of new tunes as well as singing a host of old favourites. There was a Pink Floyd jamboree and a Beatles medley where we all threw in what we knew. Great stuff people!  Really looking forward to next month already.

image

That brings me to the most exciting part of a massively exciting weekend.  A few months ago I was playing at the CatStrand Open Stage and must have impressed local producer Marcus Samson Wright because he offered me free recording sessions to develop my music with.  Last Monday I tootled on over to Gatehouse of Fleet, where many exciting musical things take place, and did a first, rough recording of Angel.
It was quite a learning experience for me.  I had to keep still,  which really impacted on ,y timing and tempo, and I had to learn to separate the vocal from the guitar, which was easier when I played the guitar without singing than singing with only a recording of guitar. I have practiced the former but never the latter. I also really heard my own voice clearly for the first time outside of my head and was really surprised by the rasp in it and some of the tones. I think I must still be a choir girl in there somewhere, so it wax a shock to hear the layers of life experience over that self image!
Today we took what we learned last week and turned a pretty lil acoustic ballad into something way closer to an epic, lighters out, power ballad. You’ll get to hear the full thing in time, but I promise you it’s kinda special.  In the meantime, here’s last week’s work for your interrogation. 
Angel #1

Leave a Reply

