Last night was another awesome night at the CatStrand Open Stage evening,  with loads of great music and poetry. Lots of ladies from the upcoming Maidens of Music festival  on the 21st of May  (it’s happening every Saturday this month. I think that’s why the sun is shining ).
Highlights of the night included Nicola Black, Blackie and Anne Chaurand playing Little Wing; the Wierdy Women singing the Last Leviathan  (don’t tell Carol I was crying ;)) ; Sue Palmer-Jones reading insightful poems inspired by The Rider Waite tarot and a great jam with the song Fever.
I didn’t panic this time! Yay! I played my version of Hurt, which went down very well. I’ve played it so many times over the last few years, but my Cordoba and I are building an understanding now. We can both be too loud and raucus, but we’re learning together how to dial it back when we need to.
I also did my first ever live performance of Inferno, which went way, way better than I feared it might. In fact,  everyone seemed to rather enjoy it! I was asked where the idea came from, and since that allows me to  make a little plug for some of my writing,  I shall repeat the story here. In the same work that Angel comes from, which I call Tapestries of the Veils, one of the main characters is a former bard and Rock Star. Going by the name of Aidan Rourke,  he’s the main writer of songs from that set of books. Inferno is the first of his songs to be mentioned, in the chapter called The Locket. It’s about the world he lives in, where the two Super Powers are the British Empire  (the American Revolution did not happen) and the Roman Catholic Church. They are locked in a Cold War with the constant threat of outright war, and Inferno explores that. That said, I decided to put music to it because it is open enough to be applied to our world too.
Anyway,  overthought explanation over. Here’s the songs I sang for those who missed it. I will re-record Inferno soon as I’ve polished the guitar work quite a bit!
Listen to Hurt, cover of Johnny Cash cover of NiN song by alternatecelt #np on #SoundCloud

Listen to Inferno.mp3 by alternatecelt #np on #SoundCloud

Leave a Reply

